Skip to product information
1 of 2

Liberation is Lit

HOW THE ONE-ARMED SISTER SWEEPS HER HOUSE by Cherie Jones

HOW THE ONE-ARMED SISTER SWEEPS HER HOUSE by Cherie Jones

Regular price $6.00 USD
Regular price $16.99 USD Sale price $6.00 USD
Sale Sold out

HOW THE ONE-ARMED SISTER SWEEPS HER HOUSE by Cherie Jones

Condition: Very good

A debut novel in the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, from a brilliant Caribbean writer, set in Barbados, about four people each desperate to escape their legacy of violence in a so-called "paradise."

In Baxter Beach, Barbados, moneyed ex-pats clash with the locals who often end up serving them: braiding their hair, minding their children, and selling them drugs. Lala lives on the beach with her husband, Adan, a petty criminal with endless charisma whose thwarted burglary of one of the Baxter Beach mansions sets off a chain of events with terrible consequences. A gunshot no one was meant to witness. A new mother whose baby is found lifeless on the beach. A woman torn between two worlds and incapacitated by grief. And two men driven by desperation and greed who attempt a crime that will risk their freedom -- and their lives.

View full details